New Legislation Proposes Bars and Restaurants Post Signage to Remind Drunk Patrons not to Drive
Trenton–Patrons at New Jersey bars and restaurants with liquor licenses would get a written reminder of the penalties for driving while intoxicated under a proposal recently introduced by Assemblywoman Caroline Casagrande.
“This is a last call to stop drunk driving,” Casagrande, R-Monmouth, said. “Those who drink tend to need a restroom and this would give them a final reminder on the way out the door before doing something incredibly stupid like getting behind the wheel.”
The bill, A-3464, would require all bars and restaurants with liquor licenses to post notices in their restrooms, entrances and exits reminding people of New Jersey’s penalties against drunken driving. The notices would include a phone number to call for safe transportation home. Establishments that fail to post the notices would face a $50 fine.
Maximum penalties for first offense for driving with a blood alcohol content between 0.08 and 0.10 percent includes a $400 fine, 30 days imprisonment, three-month license suspension, 12 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years. Those penalties increase according to higher levels of blood alcohol content and repeat offenses.
“New Jersey has very strict laws against drunk driving, yet they don’t stop people from endangering their own lives, and even worse, other innocent people on the road,” Casagrande said. “One piece of paper displaying the severe consequences of driving drunk might spare a person from going to jail and losing their license, and more importantly, save another person’s life.”